Henry S. Geyer Award Recipients Announced

<< Back

Geyer Award Recipients Announced

The Mizzou Alumni Association (MAA) announced the recipients of the Henry S. Geyer Award on Tuesday, Jan. 17, at a reception in Jefferson City. The recipients were (from left to right) Curator Emeritus Sean McGinnis, State Representative Donna Lichtenegger and Missouri State Senator Dan Brown.

The Mizzou Legislative Network Committee (MLN) annually presents the awards to at least one state-elected official and one citizen who exemplify the dedication and spirit of Henry S. Geyer. As a former state representative, Geyer believed education was the key to progress and prosperity in Missouri and introduced a bill to establish the University of Missouri in 1839.

“This year’s recipients are great examples of what it means to advocate for higher education in our state,” said Lesa McCartney, chair of the MAA’s Legislative Network Committee.

Senator Dan Brown
represents the 16th Senatorial District in the Missouri State Senate, which includes Camden, Crawford, Dent, Phelps, and Pulaski counties. Senator Brown was elected to the Senate in 2010 and reelected in 2014. In addition to his legislative duties, Senator Brown has practiced veterinary medicine for over 30 years. He earned both his Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture and his Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine from the University of Missouri. As a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, Senator Brown has been a consistent and strong supporter of his alma mater and the rest of the UM System campuses. He resides in Rolla with his wife, Kathy.

Representative Donna Lichtenegger
represents the 146th House District, which includes a portion of Cape Girardeau County. She was elected to her first two-year term in 2010. Lichtenegger has been a consistent proponent of higher education in the state legislature, first serving on the House Higher Education Committee in 2011. She currently serves as Chairwoman of the committee. Born in St. Louis, Lichtenegger graduated from Normandy High School, attended the University of Missouri and has a degree from St. Louis Community College – Forest Park. She has 37 years of experience in the dental field and resides in Jackson with her husband, John.

Sean McGinnis
is an attorney engaged in civil trial practice, with primary emphasis in personal injury, governmental entity and constitutional law litigation.  McGinnis is Curator Emeritus of the University of Missouri, serving on the Board of Curators from 1999 to 2005.  He was a founding Board Member of the Mizzou Legislative Network (formally LINC), serving as Chairman from 1997 to 1998.  McGinnis was also a founding board member of the MU Political Action Committee and the University of Missouri Flagship Council. He currently serves on the Flagship Council’s Board of Directors as Co-Chairman of the Legislative Committee. He obtained his law degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law in 1984. McGinnis resides in Springfield. 

See a list of all past Geyer Award recipients.

Take MU's Virtual Tour
Tour Mizzou wherever you are. Begin your tour.
Program of the Month
Introduce your child to Mizzou through the Tigers in Training program! More
Member Discount of the Month
Take advantage of our MAA discount at Courtyard by Marriott, Columbia. More
Ride with Pride
The ultimate way to show your pride in Mizzou. More

Tourin' Tigers
A first-person account of our Tourin' Tigers trip to the Netherlands and Belgium. More

What's Your Mizzou IQ?
Test your Mizzou trivia to win MU-themed prizes! More
Once in a Lifetime
Campus and Columbia prepare for the first total eclipse in 500 years. More
Alumni Profile: Jim Turner
Jim Turner, BJ ’52, served as a US civil rights attorney. His career spanned 9 presidents. More
Alumni Chapter Locator
MAA members, find a local chapter near you and get involved! More